close arrow-right twitter
School Logo

Scawby Academy


In this section you will find information about our curriculum and the ways we teach in different classes. We teach a full and broad curriculum that reflects our local area and the needs of the children and families within our community.  Our teachers work closely with their partner classes at Hibaldstow Academy to ensure that pupils are engaged with deep and interesting learning that go beyond the expectations of the National Curriculum.



Our Approaches to Teaching and Learning

This document outlines our methods and approaches to teaching and learning at Scawby Academy.

Our Curriculum

We are currently undergoing a period of reflection and transition with our curriculum. As part of this process we are reviewing our long and medium term plans to deliver a high quality curriculum to meet the needs of our pupils. Subject leaders across the Academy Trust are working together to ensure we have a curriculum plan that ensures strong progression and knowledge against the scope and breadth of the National Curriculum, our local area and the pupils attending our academy. More information on our long term planning will be published at a later date.

The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum states that all state schools in England and Wales should provide a balanced and broadly based curriculum that:


  • Promotes the spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical development of pupils at the school and of society
  • Prepares pupils at the school for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of adult life

In primary schools, learning is organised into three phases:


Early Years Foundation Stage: aged 4-5 (Reception class)

Key Stage 1: ages 5-7 (Years 1-2)

Key Stage 2: ages 7-11 (Years 3-6)


At Key Stages 1 and 2, the statutory subjects that all pupils must study are:


  • Art and Design
  • Design and Technology
  • English
  • Geography
  • History
  • Languages
  • Computing
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Physical Education (PE)
  • Science


Religious Education (RE) and Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship Education (PSHCE) must also be provided at Key Stages 1 and 2.